Is it vegan? 16 foods that will surprise you.

Have you ever looked at the nutritional information on your favorite foods? I challenge you to take a look when you shop.  There may be some of your favorites that contain animals products that you would never guess.

When we cut out animal foods we had to do a LOT of label reading. Obviously we knew we could eat fruits and veggies but the packaged stuff was another story.

We were quite surprised with what we found.  Below are some items that have shocked us....

  1. Oreos - vegan

  2. Tropicana Heart Healthy Orange Juice - not vegan - contains fish

  3. Minute Maid Red Grapefruit Juice - not vegan - contains cochineal.

  4. Soy Cheese - not vegan unless labeled vegan - contains casein

  5. Movie Theater Popcorn (locally to me at least) - vegan

  6. Pillsbury Crescent Rolls - vegan

  7. Costco apple pie - vegan

  8. Non-dairy creamer - not vegan - often contains casein, whey, or lactose

  9. Veggie burgers - not all are vegan - often contains eggs or milk to bind.

  10. (mainstream) Gummy candiesnot vegan -  gelatin is not vegan. Also check for cochineal (what makes up red dye)

  11. Marshmallows - not vegan - contains gelatin

  12. Potato chips (Not all but a large variety) - not vegan -  many contain milk

  13. Papa John's pizza crust - vegan - You can order pizza from a lot of chain restaurants without cheese and they will be vegan however not all crusts are vegan. This is a really helpful list here

  14. Starbucks  - even if you get soy/almond/coconut milk, not all are vegan. (the caramel sauce is not vegan but the mocha sauce is!) To see a list of what is not vegan, click here

  15. Super Pretzel soft pretzels - vegan - HOWEVER, a lot of soft pretzels are NOT vegan. So definitely ask if you are out and about.  BONUS: Mickey soft pretzels in Disney World ARE vegan. 

  16. Duncan Hines home-style frosting & cake mixes vegan -Always double check but most are, in fact, vegan. 

To be sure that the foods you are eating do not contain animal products, a sure bet is when you see "vegan" labeled on it somewhere.  Simply checking the nutritional facts is not always accurate as some animal products are hidden in there, like gelatin.  Nutritional facts will only say if it contains eggs or milk typically. 

Which food surprises you the most? Leave it in the comments!

Is it vegan_.png


Are there any foods that surprised you on this list? Or ones you've come across in the store?